top of page
  • Writer's picturemhyajo

4 tips to nailed directing world



Professional, nonprofessional, educational, recreational. It doesn't matter. 

Directing isn't easy. The Director is your leader, the visionary, and the individual who is blamed if the final piece is crap people depart intermission, your striking high point gets laughs, its described as cute or charming, your audience lets you know it sucks, your mother lets you know it sucks, and worst of your entire audience has no opinion). Based on my journey, Focus and preparation are key. Talent does not hurt. But this preparation, keep in mind and work goes in creating. Give your audience credit. Let them do a little bit of work, use their imaginations, and believe a little magic. 


here my tips to keep in mind before I am directing a piece. 


Casts

Casting is ninety percent of everything. The people, in the right roles, will remove the bulk of the artistic issues. Look for attributes on your actors that embody. Do not throw to type that's lazy and will result in a piece that is shallow, but detect parallels between the character and the actor or artist. Taking this person and commissioning him or her to give birth to a brand-new human being. 


Script

As possible about the play, your cast should feel about their personalities. And its the Director's job all during the trip.  I should know my script better than I know myself. By the time I start my piece, then I said to myself that "This is my world now."  I need to eat, drink, breathe, and also sleep the script. When one of my actors asks me any questions regarding the play, I need to be familiar with the answer. What does this word mean? Why does this happen? What was me as a playwright frame of mind when I wrote this? Should I blah? Anything. Obsess over the script. Have the answers. Research the historical period.


The five W and one H 

Know the narrative like it's my very own life. Know the personalities better than I know my nearest relatives. If you do not have a solid vision right away, nobody else will, either. I am telling a story. Hence I Know my who, what, when, where, and why. But most importantly, I know how I am going to tell it. - Consider a test as a laboratory: hypothesize, experiment, repeat. 


Rehearsal

I love rehearsals.  Rehearsals are the bubbles in which the real magic happens. Rehearsal is where personalities are built, relationships are formed, and also the point turns from elevated wooden plank into a living, breathing universe.


Don't give all of it away. There are of the lessons that I've learned, Some listed, though it came organically not theoretically.  And if they are stuck by you, just do not give up. Because it should be a smooth ride, Since each Director has their own style.  


There are two impulses in theater.  To be frivolous or to make rules - Tadashi Suzuki, Japanese Director


Good luck. And reach me anytime if you ready to collaborate! 

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Sofia Franco. Proudly created with Wix.com.

bottom of page